Julia Bronkhorst in Concert

Includes a large selection of Julia Bronkhorst's concert repertoire both from her mezzo and soprano days and spanning her entire career from her earliest beginnings at the Utrecht Conservatory in 1987 until concerts as recent as 2015. The free bonus download has a unique 1989 radio interview with Julia which is illustrated by several gorgeous songs by Enescu and Mendelssohn. It also features Julia's only vinyl release (she later only released cd's), a graduation project with the Utrecht Conservatory Orchestra conducted by Kenneth Montgomery. Of course the 57 page pdf booklet brings the LP cover in high resolution along with numerous other photographs from Julia's personal archive. Including Julia's reminiscences.
In stock

Picture 6


Production: 401DutchDivas.nl
PDF booklet: Contains a 57 page PDF booklet with high biographical information, high res photographs and newspaper clippings in facsimile.
Graphic design, audio remastering: 401www.nl
Catalogue number: DD201611
℗ © 2016 401DutchDivas.nl


Audio samples below are low res, downloads contain high resolution mp3's
Julia Bronkhorst's biography (English/Dutch)
can be found here
Total Time:


Volume I  
1987-1989 Early recordings  
01 Rossini: ‘Chanson du bébé’ (1987 Utrecht, Final exam conservatory)  
02 Brahms: ‘Geistliches Wiegenlied’ (1989)  
03 Brahms: ‘Immer Leiser wird mein Schlummer’ (1989 Amsterdam, Cristofori zaal)
04 Britten: Les illuminations 1 ‘Villes’ (1990 Amsterdam, English Church)  
05 Britten: Les illuminations 3 ‘Royauté’  
06  Britten: Les illuminations 4 ‘Départ’
07 Shostakovich: 7 Romances by Alexander Blok ‘The Storm’ – ‘Secret signs’ (1992 Eindhoven,)
08  Janáček: ‘Elaska’ (Love) (1993 Amsterdam, Cristofori)
09 Janáček: ‘Ungewissheit’ (In the unclear)  
10 Janáček: ‘Alleen in de Bergen’ (alone in the mountains)  
11 Janáček: ‘Alleen in de Bergen’ (alone in the mountains)  
12 Janáček: ‘De roosmarijn’ (The rosemary)  
13  Janáček: ‘De brief is voor jou mijn liefste’ (The letter is for you my love)  
14 Hans Krása: 5 Songs (1993 Amsterdam, Cristofori)
– ’Ihr Mädchen seid wie die Gärten’
– ’An die Brüder’
– ’Mach dass etwas uns geschiet’
– ’Die Liebe’
– ’Vice Versa’
15 Berlioz: Les Nuits d’Été 1 ‘Absence’ (1995, The Hague)
16 Berlioz: Les Nuits d’Été 2 ‘Au cimetière’  
17 Berlioz: Les Nuits d’Été 3 ‘L’Ile inconnue’  
18 Grieg: Peer Gynt ‘Solveigs song' (1995, The Hague)
19 Spohr: ‘Sei still mein Herz‘ (1996 Veldhoven)  
20 Spohr: ‘Wach auf’  
21 Spohr: ‘Wiegenlied’  
   Total Time: 67.28'
 Volume II  
Bonus Interview with Peter van Bree (Dutch language)  
01 Interview Part I on Julia’s beginnings
02 Chausson: ’Chanson perpétuelle’ (1987 Utrecht Conservatory Orchestra conducted by Kenneth Montgomery)*
*Julia's only LP recording as part of her conservatoy graduation
03 Interview Part II  
04 Enescu: ‘Estrène à Anne’ (1989)  
05 Enescu: ‘Languir me fais’ (1989)  
06 Enescu: ‘Aux demoiselles paresseuses a leurs amis’ (1989)  
07 Enescu: ‘Du conflict en douleur’ (1989)
08 Interview Part III on Julia as a mezzo-soprano  
09 Mendelssohn: ‘Suleika’ (1989)
10 Mendelssohn: ‘Hexenlied’ (1989)  
11 Interview Part IV conclusion  
12 Ilse Weber: 'Wiegala' (March 13, 2015, The Hague, De Hoeksteen)
   Total Time: 41.32'

℗ © 2016 401DutchDivas.nl / Please consider the effects of copying small scale productions like ours, made with considerable effort.